To Write or Not to Write

That is the question. I once read an interview of one of my dearest writer friends, who was responding to a question about what her best advice is for aspiring writers. She spoke of how she met so many people who say they write, yet they can’t really talk about what they’ve been “working” on. “I actually haven’t written it yet,” they might say, “but I have the idea in my head”. “Writers write,” my friend said to the interviewer.

Writers write. Right. So here I am. Sitting here trying to write. I am a writer, as difficult as it is for me to accept sometimes. I don’t have much published. I don’t put my work out as much as I probably should. I don’t have a set schedule where I write everyday and I am not confident enough in my abilities, constantly questioning them. Yet, I still attempt. Even if no one ever reads what I write, even if I throw my words to the wind, the act of writing makes me a writer if only for that moment. I have to remind myself of this at times.

So, to write or not to write. Writers write and I am writing right now. Here I am. Write. Why not? I don’t have an answer.

One thought on “To Write or Not to Write

Leave a Reply

